gratitude: community

I recently left my job working at an elementary school to pursue my business full time and every once in a while I will head back there to say hi or help out in the classrooms. Today was one of those days and it felt like walking into the Cheers bar (minus the alcohol, of course) where everyone knew my name. There is something completely humbling and uplifting about a simple greeting that most people take for granted in a dynamic workplace. Working on my own most of the time now, I might never hear my name said all day. As one of the basic human needs (according to Maslow), a sense of belonging goes a long way and makes such an impact. The day was great, filled with work and play, and left me feeling immense gratitude for community.

One thought on “gratitude: community

Leave a Reply

