floral friday: japanese maple

Although they are not flowers, I just had to feature these brilliant red Japanese maple leaves this week.


common name. Japanese maple
scientific name. Acer palmatum

IMPRESSED by nature Floral Friday Japanese Maple

Japanese maple trees are easy to recognize by their hand-shaped leaves, which is how they earned their Latin name, palmatum. I always thought that these trees had limited variety, but as I began to research them, I discovered quite the opposite. Some of the varieties are pretty incredible, you can check them out here.  I think my favorite is the Dissectum Atropurpureum–it’s a mouthful, but the leaves remind me of thousands of small bird feathers.

Leave a Reply

